top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Dos Santos

Mar. 28 - Apr. 1

This week was incredibly successful. I have accomplished my goals and am prepared to begin constructing my rockets. I have designed two rockets on RockSim, both of which fit all of my requirements. The first is a very simple single stage design. I designed this rocket for reliability, hoping to get at least one successful launch from my rockets. It uses a very simple engine mount system and recovery system, meaning it has a high chance of success.

My second rocket is very different from my first. It is much more complex, as I wanted to create a multi-stage rocket. The upper stage of the rocket is very similar to the first rocket, although it is slightly shorter in both the upper and lower sections. However, attached to the bottom of this rocket is another body tube and a second engine, creating a lower stage. When the lower stage finishes burning, the ejection charge will fire into the second motor, igniting it. The chamber between the two motors will become very pressurized, breaking the tape holding the stages together and causing the lower stage to fall away while the upper stage continues flying.

In addition, due to having designed th3e rockets on RockSim, I know the parts used in each and was able to order them (or rather, ask my dad to order them). Once they arrive I will begin constructing the rocket, to be launched at the end of this month.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Apr. 4 - Apr. 8

This week I didn’t make much progress, although I wasn’t really planning to. Last week we ordered the rocket parts, however they can take a while to arrive. Because rocket motors can be very dangerous

Mar. 21 - Mar. 25

This week I did not get anything of significance done. I was absent from class nearly the entire week due to MCAS, and as such did not have much time to work on my Inquiry this week.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page