top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Dos Santos

Jan. 10 - Jan. 14

This week was a very successful one. Seeing as we only had three days of class this week I set myself the modest goal of looking into what parts go into a model rocket and what stats matter about each one. (For example the amount of drag a parachute produces is important whereas the drag that an engine-block inside the rocket doesn’t matter). This week was less about understanding new concepts and rather about taking notes and learning information about model rockets to set up for the designing of one later in the year.

During my research I also stumbled upon an amazingly helpful site (https://www.apogeerockets.com/Building_Supplies) This site has a bunch of orderable rocket parts, all neatly cataloged by type and with numerous search functions. A quick glance shows that all the parts have lots of details attached, including size and shape and purpose. Once I begin to actually construct the rocket, I most likely will be returning to this site to purchase the pieces I need because of it’s convenient organization and catalog.


Full list of required parts: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1DI_EEnZMyMRyS4wrSHhKWFrYg4Fw5SL8WV3j0cSwt-c/edit

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Apr. 4 - Apr. 8

This week I didn’t make much progress, although I wasn’t really planning to. Last week we ordered the rocket parts, however they can take a while to arrive. Because rocket motors can be very dangerous

Mar. 28 - Apr. 1

This week was incredibly successful. I have accomplished my goals and am prepared to begin constructing my rockets. I have designed two rockets on RockSim, both of which fit all of my requirements. Th

Mar. 21 - Mar. 25

This week I did not get anything of significance done. I was absent from class nearly the entire week due to MCAS, and as such did not have much time to work on my Inquiry this week.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page