top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Dos Santos

Dec. 6 - Dec. 10

This week I did not complete my goal. I was hoping to figure out an accurate estimation of variable thrust curves, however I unfortunately was unable to do so. The math I was initially using proved to have some flaw in it, as a rocket with positive forward force apparently can go backwards. So not only do I need to fix that math, I still need to figure out a new solution for the Variable Thrust Curves. Unfortunately, due to the Inquiry Project Planner Calendar I need to have this done by next class. So I have decided to figure out the solution to the variable thrust curves as homework, and will try to get them done next week.

The reason why these variable thrust curves are so difficult is because they don’t have an equation. Every rocket engine produces some amount of force (AKA Thrust). Most model rocket engines produce a varying amount of thrust depending on the stage of the flight. Typically they peak right near the beginning to get as much speed as possible while still being stabilized by the launch tower, then they lower for a bit, then finally they shut off. The problem is there is no equation to calculate the force at any given time, instead the force is given as a series of data points which give the time and average force of the engine, which makes it very difficult to work with mathematically.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Apr. 4 - Apr. 8

This week I didn’t make much progress, although I wasn’t really planning to. Last week we ordered the rocket parts, however they can take a while to arrive. Because rocket motors can be very dangerous

Mar. 28 - Apr. 1

This week was incredibly successful. I have accomplished my goals and am prepared to begin constructing my rockets. I have designed two rockets on RockSim, both of which fit all of my requirements. Th

Mar. 21 - Mar. 25

This week I did not get anything of significance done. I was absent from class nearly the entire week due to MCAS, and as such did not have much time to work on my Inquiry this week.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page